* University of Wyoming press release

LARAMIE -- The Cowgirl golf team heads to Utah and the Sunbrook Golf Club in St. George for the Southern Utah University Lady Thunderbird Invitational hosted by Southern Utah University on Thursday through Saturday.

7220 Sports logo
Get our free mobile app

The tournament will feature 12 teams including the Cowgirls. One round will be played each day for three days with day one getting underway on March 7th at 9:00 a.m. M.T.

Five Cowgirls will make up the team lineup as well as two others playing in the invite as individuals. Morgan Ryan looks to continue her run after finishing in the top 25 at the Causeway Invitational, officially finishing tied for 17th. Graduate student Jadan Gonzalez and junior Kyla Wilde will also be participating in the tournament. Gonzalez finished tied for 41st and Wilde ended the Causeway Invite tied for 43rd. Rounding out the lineup for Wyoming will be Samantha Spielman and Tomine Bjerkelo. Spielman ended the Causeway Invitational just outside the top 50 and Bjerkelo last competed in the Mountain Match Play Classic, going 1-2 in her three matchups.

Two other Cowgirls will be competing in the SSU Invite as individuals, those being redshirt sophomore Grace Dunkleberger and sophomore Sophie Spiva. Spiva will look to build off her performance in the Causeway Invitational after shooting 245 (+29) in Sacramento. Dunkleberger’s last performance was at the Mountain Match Play Classic, and she went 1-2 in her individual matches.

Southern Utah Pizza Hut Lady Thunderbird Invite Event Details:

Live Scoring

•Live scoring will be available on Golfstat.

Course Information

•Sunbrook Golf Club, St. George, Utah

Tournament Format

Thursday, March 7th, First Round Play

Friday, March 8th, Second Round Play

Saturday, March 9th, Final Round Play

Tournament Field

Along with the Cowgirls, there will be 11 other teams participating in the tournament. Southern Utah, Oral Roberts, Cal State Northridge, Utah Tech, Boise State, Weber State, Utah Valley, Cal State Bakersfield, Portland State, Stetson, and Idaho State will also be involved.

UW: University of Wyoming Cowboys’ Greatest Games From the First Decade of the 2000’s


More From 7220 Sports