* University of Wyoming press release

LARAMIE -- Ted Hendricks and the Ted Hendricks Foundation have announced its final watch list for the 2022 Ted Hendricks Award, which honors the top defensive end in college football.

Among the 37 players nationally who were named to the list was Wyoming sophomore defensive end DeVonne Harris.

7220 Sports logo
Get our free mobile app

Harris is in his first year as a starter for the Cowboys. He earned Honorable Mention All-Mountain West Conference honors this season in voting by MW head coaches and media members. Harris leads Wyoming in sacks (8.0) and tackles for loss (13.0).

The sophomore also leads all UW defensive linemen in tackles this season, with 50, including 27 solo tackles, and has six quarterback hurries, one pass break-up and returned one fumble for 44 yards versus Boise State.

He ranked No. 7 in the Mountain West and No. 34 in the FBS in sacks, averaging 0.67 per game.

In MW conference games only, Harris ranked No. 3 in tackles for loss (1.38 per game) and ranked No. 4 in sacks (0.88 per game). His season high in sacks was 3.0 versus Utah State, which ties for the fourth best single-game performance in the MW this season. Harris recorded a season high nine tackles vs. Boise State, had seven vs. Utah State, six at Illinois and five at Colorado State.

He is the sack leader of a Wyoming defensive unit that ranked No. 2 in the Mountain West and No. 21 in the nation in sacks, averaging 2.83 per game.

The Ted Hendricks Award is named in honor of college football’s first three-time first-team All-American. On-field performance, exceptional winning attitude, leadership abilities, contributions to school and community and academic preparedness are some of the criteria used to determine the Award’s recipient each year.

Members of the national media, head coaches, professional scouts and former winners are included on the Award’s selection committee.

Candidates may represent any class (Freshman through Senior) as well as any four-year NCAA accredited school. The candidate’s primary position must be Defensive End.

This year’s recipient is planned to be announced on Dec. 7.  Last year’s winner was Aidan Hutchinson of Michigan.

LOOK: Pokes' unis through the years

More From 7220 Sports