LARAMIE -- The Golf Coaches Association of America (GCAA) has announced its Srixon/Cleveland Golf All-America Scholars for the 2020-21 season, and five members of the University of Wyoming men’s golf team have earned the honor.

The five Cowboys named All-America Scholars were: Kirby Coe-Kirkham, Jared Edeen, Tyler Severin, Dan Starzinski and Bryce Waters.

It marked the second consecutive season that five Cowboys earned the honor in the same year. Five All-America Scholars in a single year also tied for the most in the history of Cowboy Golf.

7220 Sports logo
Get our free mobile app

Out of 291 NCAA Division I men’s golf programs, Wyoming’s five individuals tied UW for the 12th most of any NCAA Division I team in the country. Three Division-I programs had seven individuals make the team and another eight schools had six individuals named to the team.

Wyoming also tied for the most individuals to receive the award of any Mountain West Conference school. Like Wyoming, Boise State and New Mexico each had five golfers named to the GCAA All-America Scholar team.

Starzinski graduated with a bachelor’s degree in civil engineering and a master’s degree in business administration both from UW. This year is the third consecutive year that he was named a GCAA Srixon/Cleveland Golf All-America Scholar.

Three other Cowboys all earned the award for the second time in their careers.

Coe-Kirkham, a sophomore studying energy systems engineering, received the honor for the second time, as did Edeen, a sophomore, and Waters, a junior. Severin, a sophomore, earned All-America Scholar honors for the first time. Edeen, Waters and Severin are all management majors.

To be eligible for Srixon/Cleveland Golf All-America Scholar status an individual must be a sophomore, junior or senior academically and athletically in Division I, II, III, or NAIA, or receiving their Associate’s Degree and in their final year of athletic eligibility in the NJCAA.

In addition, they must have a stroke-average under 76.0 in Division I, 78.0 in Division II, 78.0 in NAIA, 79.0 in Division III and 77.0 in NJCAA, and maintain a minimum cumulative career grade-point average of 3.2. Each individual must have participated in 40% of their team’s competitive rounds for the current season.

A recipient must also be of high moral character and be in good standing at his college or university.

* University of Wyoming press release

Wyoming Cowboys football players in the NFL: Then and now

More From 7220 Sports