* A University of Wyoming press release contributed to this report

LARAMIE -- Cowboy guard Sam Griffin was named Honorable Mention All-Mountain West by the coaches in the conference on Tuesday the league announced. Griffin was named Third-Team All-MW by the media covering the conference on Monday.

7220 Sports logo
Get our free mobile app

"For him, I mean, just the ability to be a guy that has the ball in his hands a majority of the time, to be a primary ball handler, one I thought, you know, as the season has gone on, he's definitely gotten a lot better in terms of just kind of understanding what the game calls for instead of just thinking, 'Hey, I have to score, score, score," Wyoming head coach Jeff Linder said on Monday. "What's going to allow us to win the game? I think that's kind of what he's gotten a lot better at."

Griffin leads the Cowboys in scoring this season at 16.8 points per game for sixth in the conference. He also leads the team with 3.4 assists per game, which ranks tenth in the conference. He has knocked down 73 three pointers this season, a number that ranks fourth in the MW.

The Miami native has scored in double figures 26 times this season and has scored 20 or more points in 11 games. He was named the MW Player of the Week following the Pokes win over Nevada. He recently went over the 2,000-point mark for his career.

Griffin transferred to Wyoming after spending two seasons at the University of Tulsa. Prior to that, he spent two years at UT-Arlington.

The Cowboys open the Mountain West Championship on Wednesday facing Fresno State in the First Round at Noon MT. The contest will be streamed on the MW Network.

2023-24 All-Mountain West Men’s Basketball Team

First Team

Tyson Degenhart, Jr., F, Boise State

Isaiah Stevens, Gr., G, Colorado State

Jaedon LeDee, Sr., F, San Diego State

Darius Brown II, Gr, G, Utah State

Great Osobor, Jr., W, Utah State


Second Team

O’Mar Stanley, Jr., F, Boise State

Kenan Blackshear, Gr., G, Nevada

Jarod Lucas, Gr., G, Nevada

Donovan Dent, So., G, New Mexico

JT Toppin, Fr., F, New Mexico

Dedan Thomas Jr., Fr., G, UNLV


Third Team

Nique Clifford, Sr., G, Colorado State

Nick Davidson, So., F, Nevada

Jaelen House, Gr., G, New Mexico

Keylan Boone, Sr., F, UNLV


Defensive Team

Tré Coleman, Sr., F, Nevada

Jaelen House, Gr., G, New Mexico

Lamont Butler, Sr., G, San Diego State

Luis Rodriguez, Sr., G, UNLV

Darius Brown II, Gr., G, Utah State


Honorable Mention

Chibuzo Agbo, Sr., G, Boise State

Max Rice, Sr., G, Boise State

Lamont Butler, Sr., G San Diego State

MJ Amey, Jr., G, San Jose State

Kalib Boone, Sr., F, UNLV

Ian Martinez, Sr., G, Utah State

Sam Griffin, Sr., G, Wyoming


Player of the Year: Great Osobor, Jr., W, Utah State

Defensive Player of the Year: Lamont Butler, Sr., G, San Diego State

Newcomer of the Year: Great Osobor, Jr., W, Utah State

Co-Sixth Man of the Year: Mustapha Amzil, Sr., F, New Mexico

Co-Sixth Man of the Year: Josh Uduje, Jr., G, Utah State

Co-Freshman of the Year: JT Toppin, F, New Mexico

Co-Freshman of the Year: Dedan Thomas Jr., UNLV

Steve Fisher Coach of the Year: Danny Sprinkle, Utah State

UW: University of Wyoming Cowboys’ Greatest Games From the First Decade of the 2000’s


More From 7220 Sports