Update Jan. 30, 2021

Two more Cowboy football players have entered the transfer portal, per posts on Twitter. Ray Rabou (LB) and Brennan Kutterer (LB) have been granted their release and are now free to sign with a team.

Rabou, a Buffalo native, appeared in 15 games for the Pokes. The sophomore mostly saw time on special teams. Kutterer is from up the road in Dayton. The Tongue River grad played in 14 games and racked up a pair of tackles. He is a junior.

Rabou and Kutterer join former Cowboy defensive end Cameron Smith in the NCAA transfer portal.

Update Jan. 28, 2021

Keshaun Taylor has decided to return to the University of Wyoming. That news was confirmed by a source familiar with the situation Wednesday afternoon.

Taylor, a former wide receiver and three-star recruit from Denver, did not play in the 2020 COVID-19-shortened season. He is slated to play safety for Craig Bohl's Cowboys.

That leaves just Cameron Smith (DE) currently in the transfer portal for UW.

Original story

LARAMIE -- Just two former Wyoming Cowboys are still in football limbo.

Defensive end Cameron Smith and safety Keshaun Taylor are in the transfer portal, according to 247sports.com. Smith, a freshman from Parker, Colo., tallied seven tackles and picked up a pair of sacks in four games for the Cowboys last fall. He also forced a fumble and recovered one.

On Dec. 7, Wyoming head coach Craig Bohl announced that Smith was suspended from the team.

Taylor, another Colorado product, never played for the Pokes. The three-star recruit played for former Wyoming standout Derrick Martin at Thomas Jefferson High School in Denver.

Dontae Crow, a senior from Sheridan, announced he was entering the transfer portal in late December as a graduate transfer. His name is not listed on 247sports.com and according to his Twitter account, Crow was offered by Campbell University (North Carolina) in early January.

Crow snagged seven passes for 78 yards in 2020. He was also a kick and punt returner for the Cowboys. Crow finished his career with 13 catches for 153 yards.

The Cowboys do still have four players who have yet to be claimed off the 2020 transfer portal: Javaree Jackson (DT), Isaiah Abdullah (OLB), Jerome Cooper (S) and Allen Smith (CB)

Here's a complete list of Mountain West Conference players currently in the transfer portal who have not yet found a new team:

Air Force: Malik Scurlock (DE)

Boise State: Mason Sikes (TE), Dylan Hall (WR), Marques Evans (CB)

Colorado State: Tyreese Jackson (RB), Jadon Walker (WR), Livingston Paogofie (DT), Christian Cumber (CB), Xavier Goldsmith (CB)

Fresno State: Saevion Johnson (RB), Grant Lake (WR), Tilini Livai (OL), Leevel Tatum (DT), Colby Warkentin (DE), Chris Coleman (CB), Chris Gaston (CB)

Hawaii: Miles Reed (RB), Ernest Moore (OL), Caden Hilborn (DT), Paul Scott (ILB), Zach Bowers (ILB), Akil Francisco (CB), Quin Bright (ATH)

Nevada: Morian Walker (RB), Henry Ikahihifo (TE), Javasia Brunson (DE), Chris Green (DT), Logan Arnold (DE), Erick Kroll (LB)

New Mexico: Kentrail Moran (RB), Jay Griffin (WR), Jordan Kress (WR), Jacobi Hearn (OLB), Eric Cuffee (CB), Letayveon Beaton (S)

San Diego State: Carson Baker (QB), Mark Salazar (QB), Zidane Thomas (RB), Nolan Givan (TE)

San Jose State: Jake Simmons (QB), Beaux Tagaloa (DT),

UNLV: Kenyon Oblad (QB), Marckell Grayson (QB), Randal Grimes (WR), Mekhi Stevenson (WR), Tyleek Collins (WR), Jamaal Neal (TE), Jeremy Clark (WR), Justice Oluwaseun (OG), Jamal Halloway (DE), Jalen Graves (DE), Greg Francis (CB)

Utah State: Jason Shelley (QB), Tyrese Mack (WR), Elijah Shelton (ILB), Maika Magalei (OLB), Christopher Bartolic (P)

Wyoming: Cameron Smith (DE), Ray Rabou (LB), Brennan Kutterer (LB)

  • This story will be updated throughout the offseason

More From 7220 Sports