LARAMIE -- University of Wyoming football student-athletes Justis Borton, Jeff Burroughs, Taylor Dodd and Skyler Miller were honored on Wednesday by The National Football Foundation and College Hall of Fame (NFF) as members of the 2021 Hampshire Honor Society.

To qualify for selection to the NFF Hampshire Honor Society, a college football player must achieve a minimum 3.20 cumulative grade point average, must meet all NCAA or NAIA progress toward degree requirements, must have been a significant contributor to their team and must have completed their playing eligibility in the most recent college football season.

7220 Sports logo
Get our free mobile app

Defensive tackle Borton has earned a 3.833 cumulative grade-point average in criminal justice. Fullback Burroughs earned a 3.696 cumulative gpa in management and is now working on his MBA. Cornerback Dodd achieved a 3.330 gpa in management and fullback Miller completed his undergraduate work in animal science with a 3.860 cumulative gpa and is now working on a master’s degree in public administration.

The unique characteristic of this year’s group of Wyoming honorees is they are all native Wyomingites. Borton is from Wheatland.  Burroughs is from Yoder. Dodd is a native of Laramie, and Miller is from Torrington.

This is the 14th year in the 15 years that the Hampshire Honor Society has been in existence that UW has had at least one individual selected.

Borton, Burroughs and Miller all joined the Wyoming Football program in the fall of 2016. Dodd became a member of the Cowboy program in the fall of 2017. During their careers, Wyoming teams appeared in three bowl games -- the 2016 Poinsettia Bowl, 2017 Famous Idaho Potato Bowl and 2019 NOVA Home Loans Arizona Bowl and played for the 2016 Mountain West Conference Championship.

“Justis, Jeff, Taylor and Sklyer have proudly represented our program and their home state throughout their careers as Wyoming Cowboys,” said head coach Craig Bohl. “They’ve all been selfless teammates and have helped us grow as a program over the duration of their careers. Academically, they have obviously all achieved at an extremely high level. I’m happy for them to be recognized by the National Football Foundation with this honor and couldn’t be prouder of them.

"I know they will all go on to very successful careers.”   

Nominees from all levels of college football are eligible for the NFF Hampshire Honor Society, including: NCAA Football Bowl Subdivision, NCAA Football Championship Subdivision, NCAA Division II, NCAA Division III and the NAIA.

The NFF Hampshire Honor Society was created in 2007 to honor college football student-athletes in all divisions. Jon F. Hanson, the chairman and founder of the Hampshire Companies, established an endowment to fund the NFF Hampshire Honor Society in `07. He was a former NFF Chairman from 1994-2006, and currently serves as NFF chairman emeritus.

Each player earning membership into this year’s Honor Society will receive a certificate commemorating their achievement.

A breakdown of the Wyoming Cowboys inducted into the Society through the years follows:

Hampshire Honor Society Members From the University of Wyoming 

2021: Justis Borton, Jeff Burroughs, Taylor Dodd and Skyler Miller

2020: Josiah Hall, Josh Harshman, Cooper Rothe, Nick Szpor and Ben Wisdorf

2019: Nico Evans, Adam Pilapil, Nick Smith and Andrew Wingard

2018: Drew Van Maanen

2017: Chase Roullier

2016: Cameron Coffman and Rafe Kiely

2015: Keenan Montgomery, Mark Nzeocha and Stuart Williams

2013: Luke Ruff and Oliver Schober

2012: Clayton Kirven

2011: Dax Crum, Chris Prosinski and Alex Toney

2010: Russ Arnold, Weston Johnson and Jesson Salyards

2009: Jake Edmunds, Michael Ray and Chris Sundberg

2008: Luke Chase, Sean Claffey and Brandon Haugen

2007: Mike Groover, Tyler Holden and John Wendling

* University of Wyoming press release

DUMB: 10 Absolute WORST Tourist Incidents at Yellowstone National Park

More From 7220 Sports