LARAMIE -- Hunter Maldonado Monday added yet another bullet point to an already impressive career résumé.

Wyoming's super senior was named Second Team All-Mountain West by the league's media after averaging 14.8 points and 4.1 assists per outing this season. The Colorado Springs product has earned all-conference honors in each of the last four seasons, including a First Team selection at the conclusion of the 2021-22 campaign.

7220 Sports logo
Get our free mobile app

Maldonado Saturday became the first Division-I player in history to record 2,000 career points, pull down 800 rebounds and dish out 600 assists. He is the Mountain West's all-time leader in helpers with 627. He has also scored the second-most points in the 24-year history of the league.

The 6-foot-7, 202-pound guard averaged nearly 17 points in Mountain West play and added 5.2 rebounds and 4.4. assists. Maldonado ranked fifth in the conference in shooting percentage, drilling 50% of his shots from the field. He also ranked in the Top 10 in 11 separate categories.

Maldonado recorded 20 or more points in seven conference games and recorded double-figures in all but two games. He recorded three double-doubles in conference play and sank a season-high 34 points in a contest at San Jose State.

Here's how the rest of the media voted:

Player of the Year: Omari Moore - San Jose State (Others receiving votes: Steven Ashworth - Utah State; Matt Bradley - San Diego State; Isaiah Stevens - Colorado State)


Coach of the Year: Tim Miles - SJSU (Others receiving votes: Brian Dutcher - SDSU; Leon Rice - Boise State)


Defensive Player of the Year: Lamont Butler - SDSU (Others receiving votes: Jaelen House - New Mexico; Nathan Mensah - SDSU)


Newcomer of the Year: Morris Udeze - New Mexico (Others receiving votes: EJ Harkless - UNLV; Jarod Lucas - Nevada; Darrion Trammel - SDSU)


Freshman of the Year: Darrion Williams - Nevada (Others receiving votes: Rytis Petraitis - Air Force)


6th Man of the Year: Dan Akin - Utah State (Others receiving votes: Aguek Arop - SDSU; Micah Parrish - SDSU)


First Team: Omari Moore - SJSU; Tyson Degenhart - Boise State; Isaiah Stevens - CSU; Matt Bradley - SDSU; Jaelen House - New Mexico


Second Team: Hunter Maldonado - Wyoming; Steven Ashworth - Utah State; Jamal Mashburn Jr. - New Mexico; EJ Harkless - UNLV; Morris Udeze - New Mexico


Third Team: Max Rice - Boise State; Jarod Lucas - Nevada; Kenan Blackshear - Nevada; Will Baker - Nevada; Marcus Shaver Jr. - Boise State


Honorable Mention: Lamont Butler - SDSU; Darrion Trammel - SDSU; Taylor Funk - Utah State; Jemarl Baker - Fresno State; Jake Heidbreder - Air Force; Isaiah Hill - Fresno State; Dan Akin - Utah State; Aguek Arop - SDSU; Nathan Mensah - SDSU; Rytis Petraitis - Air Force

PRESS PASS: Roaming The War

Wyoming Cowboys vs. Montana State Bobcats

LOOK: Pokes' unis through the years


More From 7220 Sports