* University of Wyoming press release

LARAMIE -- The Football Writers Association of America (FWAA) announced on Tuesday the Preseason Watch List for the 2023 Outland Trophy.

Among the 91 FBS players named to the watch list is University of Wyoming junior defensive tackle Jordan Bertagnole.

7220 Sports logo
Get our free mobile app

The Outland Trophy honors the nation’s best interior lineman each season. This year’s preseason list includes 91 linemen from 65 different FBS football programs. Bertagnole is one of 24 defensive tackles named to this year’s watch list. There are 31 offensive tackles on this year’s preseason list to go with 24 offensive guards and 12 centers.

Bertagnole was named to the 2023 Mountain West Conference Preseason All-Conference Team as selected by Mountain West media at conference media days in July. He has also been named to 2023 Preseason All-Mountain West First Teams by both Athlon Sports and Phil Steele.

A native of Casper, Wyo., Bertagnole had an outstanding 2022 season. He recorded 51 total tackles, 5.5 sacks and 7.5 tackles for loss in 11 games during the 2022 season. He was forced to miss the Boise State and Fresno State games late in the season due to injury, but returned for the Arizona Bowl.

Bertagnole was also credited with four quarterback hurries and he forced two fumbles on the season.


* Missed opportunity fuels Wyoming RB LJ Richardson

Wyoming center Fia Tulafono has said goodbye to the fries

Wyoming's Kolbey Taylor has a brand new mentality in '23

How long does Craig Bohl plan to coach at Wyoming?

PODCAST: What we learned at MW Media Days 

Harrison Waylee to miss 'first couple games' due to injury

Wyoming releases first depth chart of 2023 season

Can any jobs be won or lost this fall?

Easton Gibbs: 'This will be it for me'

Is Andrew Peasley feeling the pressure? Not exactly

Tucker: How I voted in the MW preseason football poll


A very disruptive force in the middle of the Cowboy defense, Bertagnole earned Second Team All-Conference honors from Phil Steele at the conclusion of the 2022 season. He will enter the 2023 season having started 21 of 30 career games as a Cowboy.

The Outland Trophy winner is chosen from three finalists who are a part of the annual FWAA All-America Team.

The FWAA All-America Committee, after voting input from the entire membership, selects a 26-man first team and eventually the three Outland finalists. Committee members, then by individual ballot, select the winner. Only interior linemen on offense or defense are eligible for the award; ends are not eligible.

The Outland Trophy, celebrating 78 years since its founding, is the third-oldest major college football award. Created in 1946 when Dr. John Outland presented the FWAA with a financial contribution to initiate the award, the Outland Trophy has been given to the best interior lineman in college football ever since.

Dr. Outland, an All-American at the University of Pennsylvania in the late 1890s, eventually took up practice in Kansas City, Mo. An avid outdoorsman, Dr. Outland believed linemen did not get the credit they deserved and wanted an award to recognize them.

LOOK: Pokes' unis through the years

More From 7220 Sports