LARAMIE -- Dontae Crow is leaving the Wyoming football program.

The Cowboys' senior wide receiver has entered the transfer portal and will use his final season of eligibility elsewhere, Crow confirmed to Monday evening.

"The memories and chance to play for the Cowboys was a dream come true," he said. "I will be a Cowboy for life."

Crow, a Sheridan native, snagged seven passes for 78 yards last season, and finished his career with 13 grabs for 153 yards. Crow served as the Cowboys' kick and punt returner in 2020. He returned 13 kicks for 285 yards with a long of 40. He also hauled in 11 punts for 65 yards during his final season.

During his sophomore season in 2018, Crow was forced into punting duties before the Cowboys played a road game in Honolulu. He averaged 42.8 yards per boot in 24 attempts. Five landed inside the 20-yard line. Four went for more than 50 yards, including a career-best 68 yarder against Air Force.

Crow played in 32 games for the Cowboys during his four-year stint in Laramie. He was a member of the 2017 Famous Idaho Potato Bowl championship team and helped lead UW to an Arizona Bowl victory in 2019.

Crow is the third known Wyoming player to put his name in the portal since the Cowboys' season ended Dec. 12, joining a pair of freshmen, safety Keshaun Taylor and defensive end Cameron Smith.


Ayden Eberhardt/ DJ Johnson photo

What other seniors are staying or leaving?

Because of COVID-19, all players were granted an extra year of eligibility by the NCAA. It's not clear how many of Wyoming's 13 seniors from the 2020 roster will remain, though wide receiver Ayden Eberhardt and safety Braden Smith have told the media their plans are to return in 2021.

Wheatland's Justis Borton penned on social media before the Boise State game that "this chapter of my life is closing." Jahmari Moore also published a post on Facebook before the game, calling football "One of the hardest goodbyes I'll have to live with."

The seniors are: Logan Harris, Garrett Crall, Esaias Gandy, Nick Null, Trey Smith, Borton, Jeff Burroughs, Crow, Skyler Miller, Moore, Eberhardt, Braden Smith and Alonzo Velazquez.

More From 7220 Sports