LARAMIE -- The Wyoming Cowboy golf team will be hosting the 18th edition of the Wyoming Cowboy Classic next Monday and Tuesday, April 5-6.

The tournament will be played at the Whirlwind Golf Club at Wild Horse Pass in Chandler, Ariz.

Wyoming began the Cowboy Classic back in 2003 and hosted the tournament for 17 consecutive years before it was canceled last year due to the COVID-19 pandemic.

7220 Sports logo
Get our free mobile app

This year’s field will include 23 of the nation’s top collegiate teams.


Notes on This Year’s Cowboy Classic Tournament Field    

∙Wyoming will be one of five teams from the Mountain West Conference competing in the field (Air Force, San Diego State, UNLV, Utah State and Wyoming). 

∙A total of four Pac-12 teams will be in the tournament (Colorado, Oregon, Stanford and UCLA).

∙This year’s field will include four teams that have captured previous Cowboy Classic team titles.  Those four schools are: UCLA (Team Champion in 2004 and 2019); UC Davis (2007, 2008, 2009); Colorado (2016); and UC Santa Barbara (2017).

∙In addition to the nine combined teams from the Mountain West and Pac-12, the other 14 teams include: Cal Poly, Cal State Fullerton, Grand Canyon, Idaho, Loyola Marymount, Northern Colorado, San Diego, Southern Utah, TCU, UC Davis, UC Irvine, UC Santa Barbara, Utah Valley and Weber State.

∙The tournament field will feature six teams ranked among the Top 75 teams in the country (out of 285 NCAA Division I men’s golf programs). 


Team, Golfstat Rankings (3-31-21) / Golfweek-Sagarin Rankings (3-30-21)

San Diego State, No. 28 / No. 26

Stanford, No. 36 / No. 53

UNLV, No. 51 / No. 58

Oregon, No. 57 / No. 54

San Diego, No. 60 / No. 57

TCU, No. 74 / No. 67



∙Whirlwind Golf Club at Wild Horse Pass, Cattail Course

∙7,334 yards, Par 72


Live Stats

∙Live stats will be available each day on at:


Additional Notes on This Year’s Cowboy Classic

∙Among the Wyoming Cowboys who will be competing in this year’s Cowboy Classic is one Poke who has recorded a previous Top 25 finish in the event.  That individual is current senior Dan Starzinski, who placed 14th in the 2019 Cowboy Classic.

∙Three of the last four Cowboy Classic team champions will be playing in the 2021 edition of the tournament.  Colorado won in 2016, followed by UC Santa Barbara in 2017.  UCLA brought home the Cowboy Classic team title in 2019.  The only team champion among the last four champions that is not participating in the 2021 Cowboy Classic is UTSA, which won the team title in 2018.

∙There have been only two schools to capture multiple Cowboy Classic team championships.  UCLA was the team champion in 2004 and 2019.  UC Davis won three consecutive Cowboy Classics in 2007, ‘08 and ‘09.


One Wyoming Golf Apparel Revealed This Week  

The Wyoming men’s and women’s golf teams are revealing their new One Wyoming golf apparel this week.  Fans can preview the new golf gear on the Wyoming Golf social media accounts at: @wyo_golf on Twitter and wyogolf on Facebook.

* University of Wyoming press release

WYO SCARE: The Five Scariest Movies Set In, Filmed In, or Inspired by Wyoming

More From 7220 Sports