* University of Wyoming press release

LARAMIE -- The Golf Coaches Association of America (GCAA) announced its All-America Scholars for the 2022-23 season, and the University of Wyoming men’s golf team led all NCAA Division I programs in the nation with six individuals earning the honor.

The six Cowboys named All-America Scholars are: Patrick Azevedo, Jaren Calkins, Kirby Coe-Kirkham, Jimmy Dales, Kristof Panke and Tyler Severin.

7220 Sports logo
Get our free mobile app

Out of 297 NCAA Division I men’s golf programs, Wyoming’s six individuals tied UW with Harvard for the most individuals from a single NCAA Division I program to earn the honor for the 2022-23 season. Only one other school had six individuals earn All-America Scholar honors this year.

That school was Keiser University in West Palm Beach, Fla., which competes at the NAIA level.

The six individuals also set a new school record for Wyoming. The 2020 and ‘21 Wyoming Cowboy golf teams previously had five individuals achieve GCAA All-America Scholar honors.

“I have to first give credit to these six young men being honored. They deserve a lot of credit for their hard work and dedication in the classroom,” said Joe Jensen, University of Wyoming Director of Golf. “I’m grateful for the way they all bought into our program and the high expectations we have for them academically and on the golf course. I also want to thank our athletic department administration and staff and the UW faculty for the fantastic support we receive from all of them. This is an honor that is a reflection of everyone involved in supporting our program here at the University of Wyoming.”

One Cowboy earned the honor for the fourth time in his career.

That was Coe-Kirkham, a senior who graduated this past year from UW with a bachelor’s degree in energy systems engineering. Severin, who earned his bachelor’s degree in management, earned All-America Scholar honors for the third consecutive year. It was Dales second All-America Scholar honor. He graduated this past year with a degree in economics.

Azevedo also earned his bachelor’s degree in entrepreneurship. Azevedo and Dales have eligibility remaining and will return for the Cowboys for the 2023-24 season.  Azevedo, Calkins and Panke all earned the honor for the first time in their careers.

Since the 2017 season, Wyoming has had four or more individuals named GCAA All-America Scholars in six of those seven seasons -- four individuals in 2017, ‘18 and ‘22; five individuals in 2020 and ‘21 and a record six individuals in 2023.

To be eligible for GCAA All-America Scholar status an individual must be a sophomore, junior or senior both academically and athletically in Division I, II, III, or NAIA, or receiving their Associate’s Degree and in their final year of athletic eligibility at the NJCAA level.

In addition, they must have a stroke-average under 76.0 in Division I, under 78.0 in Division II, under 78.0 in NAIA, under 79.0 in Division III and under 77.0 in NJCAA. All-America Scholars must maintain a minimum cumulative career grade-point average of 3.2 and must have participated in 50 percent of their team’s competitive rounds for the season. A recipient must also be of high moral character and be in good standing at his college or university.

LOOK: Pokes' unis through the years

More From 7220 Sports