* University of Wyoming press release

LARAMIE -- The University of Wyoming wrestling team concludes its 2023-24 regular season Sunday. The Pokes host the Cowboy Shootout at 10 a.m. inside the Arena-Auditorium.

7220 Sports logo
Get our free mobile app

This invitational was formally known as the Cowboy Open and was historically contested in November during the early stages of the season. With its new location on the schedule, it allows wrestlers to make any final adjustments before championships.

“I think this event can really help guys who are very close to making it all click,” head coach Mark Branch said. “We have several guys who haven’t had full seasons for various reasons, and this will help them get primed for the Big 12 Tournament. It’s also a great opportunity for the redshirts and non-starters to get some much-needed matches to aid in their development.”

Wyoming finished its season at 7-7 overall and 5-4 in the Big 12. It represented the Cowboys best dual record since 2020-21 and a nice bounce back from a 1-10 season a year ago.

In the most recent coaches’ poll release and RPI ranking, Wyoming had four guys recognized. No. 4 Jore Volk (125) stood as the highest ranked Poke, followed by No. 14 Joey Novak (197), No. 23 Gabe Willochell (149) and No. 30 Cole Brooks (141).

Brooks is the only one of those four that is slated to compete Sunday. Other starters set to participate in the Cowboy Shootout include Sloan Swan (157), Cooper Voorhees (165), Quayin Short (174), Ethan Ducca (184) and Kevin Zimmer (HWT).

As Branch alluded to, many backups will have the chance to gain valuable reps Sunday. Dylan Catlin (125), Josh Kyle (133), David Saenz (133), Jack Braman (133), Stockton O’Brien (141), Brayden Sonnentag (141), Aidan Noonan (149), Warren Carr (149), Paolo Salminen (157), Seamus Casey (165), Brett McIntosh (165), Tyce Raddon (197), Winston McBride (HWT), Bradley Moore (HWT), Lane Catlin (HWT), Colby Huynh (HWT) are the other Cowboys giving it a go.

The format Sunday is a mixture of pool-play competition and brackets. Individuals from Arizona State, North Dakota State, Northern Colorado, Oregon State, South Dakota State and Utah Valley will be present.

As mentioned, this is the last regular-season competition. The Big 12 Championships take place March 9-10 in Tulsa, Oklahoma, inside the BOK Center. The NCAA Championships run from March 21-23 in Kansas City, Missouri, inside the T-Mobile Center.

30 Wyoming Attractions To Visit

- 30 Wyoming Attractions To Visit

More From 7220 Sports