* University of Wyoming press release

LARAMIE -- The National Football Foundation and College Hall of Fame (NFF) announced on Wednesday the football student-athletes from all levels of college football who are being honored this year as members of the 2023 Hampshire Honor Society.

The University of Wyoming had 10 student-athletes earn the honor this year.

7220 Sports logo
Get our free mobile app

In previous years, the NFF awarded the honor only to student-athletes who had completed their playing eligibility the previous year. This year the NFF expanded its criteria to include student-athletes who may have playing eligibility remaining but who have graduated.

The specific qualifications for selection to the NFF Hampshire Honor Society for 2023 are as follows:

• A senior player, who will graduate this spring/summer, and just completed his final year of playing eligibility in 2022; or

• A graduated player, who has been out of high school at least (3) years;

And must have:

• Attained a minimum undergraduate cumulative GPA of 3.2 (4.0 scale);

• Met all NCAA/NAIA-mandated progress towards degree requirements; and

• Been starters or significant contributors throughout the 2022 season.

This year’s honorees from the University of Wyoming listed alphabetically include:

• Parker Christensen, FB/TE, Sheridan, Wyo., 3.808 in Kinesiology and Health Promotion (Has completed his playing career)

• Frank Crum, OT, Laramie, Wyo., 3.500 in Master’s of Business Administration (Has one year of playing eligibility remaining)

• Ethan Drewes, DT, Longmont, Colo., 3.780 in Accounting (Has two years of playing eligibility remaining)

• Deron Harrell, CB, Denver, Colo., 3.400 in Education (Has one year of playing eligibility remaining)

• Marco Machado, C, Waco, Neb., 3.991 in Chemical Engineering (Has completed his playing career)

• Will Pelissier, WR, Big Horn, Wyo., 3.884 in Finance (Has two years of playing eligibility remaining)

• Clayton Stewart, P, Flower Mound, Texas., 3.625 in Master’s of Business Administration (Has one year of playing eligibility)

• Zach Watts, OG, Windsor, Colo., 3.600 in Master’s of Business Administration (Has completed his playing career)

• Treyton Welch, TE, Buffalo, Minn., 3.267 in Finance (Has one year of playing eligibility remaining)

• Wyatt Wieland, WR, Colorado Springs, Colo., 3.598 in Master’s of Business Administration (Has one year of playing eligibility)

This is the 16th time in the 17 years that the Hampshire Honor Society has been in existence that the University of Wyoming has had at least one individual selected.       Nominees from all levels of college football are eligible for the NFF Hampshire Honor Society, including: NCAA Football Bowl Subdivision, NCAA Football Championship Subdivision, NCAA Division II, NCAA Division III, the NAIA and sprint football. The NFF Hampshire Honor Society was created in 2007 to honor college football student-athletes in all divisions. Jon F. Hanson, the chairman and founder of the Hampshire Companies, established an endowment to fund the NFF Hampshire Honor Society in `07. He was a former NFF Chairman from 1994-2006, and currently serves as NFF chairman emeritus.

Each player earning membership into this year’s Honor Society will receive a certificate commemorating their achievement.

A breakdown of the Wyoming Cowboys inducted into the Society through the years follows:

Hampshire Honor Society Members From the University of Wyoming            

2023: Parker Christensen, Frank Crum, Ethan Drewes, Deron Harrell, Marco Machado, Will Pelissier, Clayton Stewart, Zach Watts, Treyton Welch and Wyatt Wieland

2022: Keegan Cryder and Chad Muma

2021: Justis Borton, Jeff Burroughs, Taylor Dodd and Skyler Miller

2020: Josiah Hall, Josh Harshman, Cooper Rothe, Nick Szpor and Ben Wisdorf

2019: Nico Evans, Adam Pilapil, Nick Smith and Andrew Wingard

2018: Drew Van Maanen

2017: Chase Roullier

2016: Cameron Coffman and Rafe Kiely

2015: Keenan Montgomery, Mark Nzeocha and Stuart Williams

2013: Luke Ruff and Oliver Schober

2012: Clayton Kirven

2011: Dax Crum, Chris Prosinski and Alex Toney

2010: Russ Arnold, Weston Johnson and Jesson Salyards

2009: Jake Edmunds, Michael Ray and Chris Sundberg

2008: Luke Chase, Sean Claffey and Brandon Haugen

2007: Mike Groover, Tyler Holden and John Wendling

University of Wyoming’s Top 50 Football Players

During the summer of 2021, 7220Sports.com counted down the Top 50 football players in University of Wyoming history, presented by Premier Bone & Joint Centers, Worthy of Wyoming.

The rules are simple: What was the player's impact while in Laramie? That means NFL stats, draft status or any other accolade earned outside of UW is irrelevant when it comes to this list.

This isn't a one-man job. This task called for a panel of experts. Joining 7220's Cody Tucker are Robert GagliardiJared NewlandRyan Thorburn, and Kevin McKinney.

We all compiled our own list of 50 and let computer averages do the work. Think BCS -- only we hope this catalog is fairer.

Don't agree with a selection? Feel free to sound off on our Twitter: @7220sports - #Top50UWFB

- University of Wyoming’s Top 50 Football Players

More From 7220 Sports