* University of Wyoming press release

LARAMIE -- The Augusta Sports Council released on Wednesday the 2023 Preseason Watch List for the Ray Guy Award, which honors the nation’s top collegiate punter in the Football Bowl Subdivision (FBS).

Among the 50 student-athletes named to the watch list was Wyoming punter Clayton Stewart.

7220 Sports logo
Get our free mobile app

Stewart was an Honorable Mention All-Mountain West selection in 2022 as voted by Mountain West head coaches and media. He ranked No. 3 in the conference and No. 33 in the nation in punting in ‘22, averaging 43.8 yards per punt. Stewart placed 20 of his 72 punts inside opponents’ 20-yard line. He had 19 punts of 50 yards or more and forced opponents into 22 fair catches.

The 2023 watch list was compiled based on the 2022 Ray Guy Award Semifinalist List, the top ten NCAA punters from 2022, the 2022 All-Conference teams, the 2022 All-American Teams, the 2023 preseason All-Conference Teams and eligible punters on the 2022 watch list.

The number of eligible candidates for this season will grow when the award opens nominations on August 3.


* Wyoming's John Hoyland named to Groza Watch List

Pokes Practice Report: Hello, my name is ...

Scouring some changes on the Cowboys '23 roster

Ethan Drewes no longer with the Wyoming football program

Wyoming football kicks off fall camp Wednesday in Laramie

Preseason recognition continues to roll in for Easton Gibbs

Jordan Bertagnole Named to the 2023 Outland Trophy Watch List

Missed opportunity fuels Wyoming RB LJ Richardson

Wyoming center Fia Tulafono has said goodbye to the fries


The complete list of candidates will be released on November 6th. In mid-November, the Ray Guy Award committee will meet to select the ten semifinalists, who will be announced on Nov. 10th. A national body of Football Bowl Subdivision (FBS) sports information directors, media representatives and previous Ray Guy Award winners will then vote for the top three finalists to be announced on Nov. 22.

After the finalists are named, the voting body will cast ballots again to select the nation’s top punter. The winner will be announced live during The Home Depot College Football Awards airing on ESPN in December 2023.

About the Ray Guy Award

The Augusta Sports Council created the Ray Guy Award in 2000 to honor Thomson, Ga. native and College and Pro Football Hall of Fame inductee Ray Guy. Among the statistics used to identify the winner is net punting average, number of times punt is downed or kicked out of bounds inside the opponents 20-yard line, total yardage punted, average returned yardage and percentage of punts not returned with particular emphasis placed on net punting average.

The winner must display team leadership, self-discipline and have a positive impact on the team’s success.

PRESS PASS: Roaming The War

Wyoming Cowboys vs. Montana State Bobcats

-LOOK: Pokes vs. Bobcats

More From 7220 Sports