* University of Wyoming press release

Albuquerque, N.M., --  The final round of the William H. Tucker Intercollegiate concluded on Tuesday with the Wyoming Cowboy golf team finishing 15th in the field of 20 of the top collegiate golf teams in the nation.  Wyoming posted a 54-hole total of 883 (+19).

The Cowboys’ top individual finisher was junior Kristof Panke, who tied for 37th at 217 (+1).

7220 Sports logo
Get our free mobile app

Host New Mexico entered the final round trailing Texas Tech by two strokes for the team championship.

The Lobos shot a final round of 275 (-13) to Texas Tech’s 280 (-8) to surpass the Red Raiders and capture the team title by three strokes, with a final three-round total of 835 (-29). The individual title was won by Tyler Kowack of San Diego State, who fired a 54-hole total of 205 (-11) to win by one stroke over Tyran Snyders and Calum Scott, both of Texas Tech, who tied for second at 206 (-10).

Wyoming’s five team members competing in the tournament were: Panke, who tied for 37th at 217 (+1); junior Jaren Calkins, who finished in 53rd place at 220 (+4); junior Patrick Azevedo, who tied for 58th at 221 (+5); graduate Jimmy Dales, who finished in 72nd place at 225 (+9); and junior Davis Seybert, who tied for 94th at 232 (+16).

One of the top public golf courses in the western United State for many years, the UNM Championship Course has hosted numerous NCAA regionals and national championship tournaments through the years.

This 2023 edition of the William H. Tucker Intercollegiate was the 68th edition of the tournament that was first played in 1955.

This year’s Tucker Intercollegiate field was one of the top fields in the country.

The 20-team field included five teams that advanced to the 2023 NCAA Championships. Those five teams were: host New Mexcio, BYU, Colorado, San Francisco and Texas Tech. Wyoming also enjoyed postseason success last year, finishing second in last year’s inaugural GOLFWEEK National Golf Invitational.

The UNM Championship Course measured 7,546 yards and played to a par of 72.

Next up for the Wyoming Cowboys is the Mark Simpson Colorado Invitational, which will be played on Monday and Tuesday, Oct. 2-3 at the Colorado National Golf Club in Erie, Colo.


Team Standings

1.   New Mexico                        280-280-275=835 (-29)

2.   Texas Tech                          278-280-280=838 (-26)

3.   San Diego State                   289-274-287=850 (-14)

4.   San Francisco                      283-279-290=852 (-12)

5.   UNLV                                  278-289-286=853 (-11)

6.   Long Beach State                 278-290-287=855 (-9)

7.   Brigham Young                   289-282-286=857 (-7)

8.   Kansas State                        285-290-286=861 (-3)

9.   Southern California             291-285-286=862 (-2)

10. TCU                                    285-285-295=865 (+1)

11. Colorado                            290-287-289=866 (+2)

12. UTSA                                  294-289-287=870 (+6)

13. Texas El Paso                       295-291-291=877 (+13)

14. San Diego                           297-286-298=881 (+17)

15. Wyoming                           286-295-302=883 (+19)

16. Santa Clara                         301-285-298=884 (+20)

     New Mexico State               294-290-300=884 (+20)

18. Hawaii                                299-296-300=895 (+31)

19. Utah Tech                           302-301-300=903 (+39)

20. UC Santa Barbara                307-291-310=908 (+44)


Wyoming Cowboys

T37 Kristof Panke                      70-69-78=217 (+1)

T53 Jaren Calkins                       70-77-73=220 (+4)

T58 Patrick Azevedo                  73-75-73=221 (+5)

T72 Jimmy Dales                        73-74-78=225 (+9)

T94 Davis Seybert                      74-77-81=232 (+16)

POKES: The Seven Best Games In The History Of The Wyoming-CSU Border War Rivalry (Naturally, they were all Wyoming wins)


More From 7220 Sports