LARAMIE -- The Wyoming Cowboys will be spending the holidays in Hawaii this season as the field for the 2021 Hawaiian Airlines Diamond Head Classic was announced on Thursday.

The Hawaiian Airlines Diamond Head Classic will also feature BYU (West Coast), tournament-host school Hawai'i (Big West), Liberty (ASUN), Northern Iowa (MVC), South Florida (American), Stanford (Pac-12), and Vanderbilt (SEC). It will be the Pokes' first trip to Honolulu since the playing in the Rainbow Classic in 2006.

7220 Sports logo
Get our free mobile app

Wyoming returns nine players with 70 percent of its scoring to go along with 80 percent of the rebounds from last season’s squad. The Pokes finished the 2020-21 season with a 14-11 record in head coach Jeff Linder’s first season.

* Just the facts: Brian Lee could pick it
* Laramie ranks middle of the pack for best basketball fans
* Just the facts: UW has elevation. You?
* Who doesn't love random college football rankings?

Each team will compete in one game per day, advancing through the bracket over three days for a total of 12 games. The two teams that remain undefeated throughout will face off in the championship game on the final day of the tournament.

Previous tournament champions of the Hawaiian Airlines Diamond Head Classic include USC (2009, 2017), Butler (2010), Kansas State (2011), Arizona (2012), Iowa State (2013), George Washington (2014), Oklahoma (2015), San Diego State (2016), TCU (2018) and Houston (2019).

Tickets are expected to go on sale in October. Additional information for the family-friendly tournament and resort destination of Honolulu, Hawai‘i, can be found on the Hawaiian Airlines Diamond Head Classic website at

* University of Wyoming press release

5 Things You Should Never Say to Your Wyoming Man

More From 7220 Sports