ATLANTA -- University of Wyoming head men’s basketball coach Jeff Linder was named to the Werner Naismith Coach of the Year Late Season Watch List on Friday, as announced by the Atlanta Tipoff Club.

Linder, who is in his second season in Laramie is one of 15 coaches named to the prestigious list and the only coach from the Mountain West Conference.

7220 Sports logo
Get our free mobile app

The Pokes, who were picked to finish eighth in the conference are currently ranked No. 22 in the nation in both the Associated Press and USA Today Coaches’ polls. Wyoming is 21-4 overall and 10-2 in the conference and currently sitting in second place. Wyoming rank No. 35 in the most recent NCAA Net Rankings.

Linder has mentored the nation’s top scoring duo in Graham Ike and Hunter Maldonado. Ike is the reigning Lute Olson Award National Player of the Week. Maldonado was named the Oscar Robertson Nation Player of the Week the previous Week.


* Going to the Air Force game? Better get tickets now

* No. 22 Wyoming falls at New Mexico, 75-66

* Tuck's 10 takes: No. 22 Pokes 'Housed' in The Pit

* Graham Ike wins Lute Olson National Player of the Week honors

The Pokes are one of the most improved defensive teams in the nation this season. Wyoming is holding opponents to 41.6 percent, an improvement of nearly six percent from last season. The Cowboys are allowing opponents to shot just 29 percent from behind the arc to rank No. 14 in the nation.

Offensively, Wyoming ranks No. 26 in the nation shooting 47.7 percent.

The Cowboys are a perfect 11-0 at home this season and have won 12-straight contests inside the Arena-Auditorium. Wyoming has gone over a calendar year without a loss at home and will host Air Force on Saturday at 2 p.m.


Werner Naismith Coach of the Year Late Season Watch List

Mark Adams – Texas tech

John Calipari – Kentucky

Ed Cooley – Providence

Scott Drew – Baylor

Mark Few – Gonzaga

Steve Forbes – Wake Forest

Greg Gard – Wisconsin

Jeff Linder – Wyoming

Tommy Lloyd – Arizona

Bob McKillop – Davidson

Matt McMahon – Murray State

Bruce Pearl – Auburn

Kelvin Sampson – Houston

POKES: The Seven Best Games In The History Of The Wyoming-CSU Border War Rivalry (Naturally, they were all Wyoming wins)

More From 7220 Sports